IMG_4012.JPG

Arthroscopy and the way back

I have not run since March due to an injury on my right knee – and it has been tough on both body and mind. I did not manage to practice other alternatives, like swimming, cycling or cross-training on a regular basis either.

My knee aches increased overtime and even mild walking activity or taking the stairs became painful. The surgeon decided it was time to take a closer look at my knee, so I finally got surgery on October 10th. I was reassured that it was minor surgery and I was not to worry. “A piece of cake” as the anaesthesiologist said before sending me to sleep for a couple of hours.

Details about the procedure can be found here

Fortunately my good friend drove me to and from the hospital and was there to calm my nerves. The arthroscopy went fast and the surgeon seemed happy with the result, so hopefully I’m on my way back from here.

It’s been 2 days since the surgery so I am doing the prescribed exercises and trying to avoid pain killers. I would rather be able to feel my knee and whether there is progress. I hope the knee heals well so I can be mobile again.

I started running to be healthy. In my eagerness to achieve the next running goals, I neglected my body’s signals and damaged my knee. I think I have learned from this experience and hopefully will be able to avoid a similar situation in future.

I am so looking forward to going for a walk in the woods with my family when I’m well again. It’s beautiful autumn weather and I can’t wait to experience it with my kids.

Have a great week and a great run out there!

6 comments

  1. Hi Anna🙂

    Good luck with the recovery! I know you can do it🙂 The body is a good teacher in lessons of humility. It is also forgiving if we treat it with care. I think you have many walks and maybe even runs in your future. I hope you get to enjoy the out of door soon.🙂
    Take care.
    Sarah

    1. Hi Sarah🙂
      Thanks for your kind comment. I am taking this time on the sofa as an opportunity to relax and read. This has been the warmest year since 1880. We had a fantastic summer, a great September and now October is historically warm as well, so one can still find strawberries out in the garden🙂 The weather man said that the temperature has on average increased 1,1 degree Celsius in the past 20 yrs respective of the previous 20 years. Take care. Ana

    1. Thank you🙂 I hope that the result is favorable, but still have to wait some weeks to know. As my blogger friend Sarah quite rightly says: “the body teaches us lessons in humility”. I hope your knee’s improving too🙂

      1. Sending you lots of positive healing energy! My knee is definitely doing better after laying off running for a month now. I officially rolled over my half marathon registration for next year. Phew, pressure is off. I’ve been having a hard time “sitting still” after 5 months of adhering to a training schedule. So I picked up indoor rock climbing with a friend recently. It is so awesome to do completely opposite side (upper body) training. I’m still pretty careful since technically I’m in recovery mode. I hope you’ll have a speedy recovery and back on the trail soon~

      2. Hi, thanks for your kind wishes🙂 It sounds reasonable to postpone your HM plan to next year and try out other activities to work out. Indoor rock climbing sounds like fun! My kids have done both indoor and outdoor rock climbing with their dad and love it. I too wish you a good recovery!

Leave a Reply

