A memorable New Year’s day

2014 is here!

How did that New Year’s Eve go?

For the first time in years, we had a quiet evening at home last night. Practically the whole Danish population watches the Queen’s speech to the nation at 18:00 hours, and so did we. After that, we enjoyed a well-balanced meal starting with a delicious tomato soup with celleri, a medium rare steak with salad and B&J chocolate fudge ice cream for dessert. At midnight we followed the Spanish tradition and ate our 12 grapes while the bells rang. Then we watched the fireworks from our balcony before turning in for a good night’s sleep.

foto (2) The Queen of Denmark

January 1st, 2014

The first day of the New Year has begun in the best possible manner for me. I had planned to run 10 kms today, and I did that in my best time ever – one hour and 23 seconds, that’s 5 minutes better than the last time I ran this same distance on Christmas day!

I kept in mind Emily‘s tips regarding hydration and sleep, and I did have large glasses of water in the early morning. Besides that I slept until about 10 this morning. At one stage I felt the first signs of weakness, so I hurried to put my running clothes on and dash out of the door, before my mind found 100 other alternatives to running.

Usually the first 3-4 kilometers are the most difficult ones for me. But I was very satisfied with the results today, particularly from km 4 to 6 and km 8 to 10. I did manage to run several kms in less than 6 minutes/km which is an improvement.

Endomondo stats

Endomondo stats

I am told that I should focus on stabilizing my running to 3 times per week (5, 7 and 10 kms). Then I should get started on distances above 10 kms sometimes and do some interval training to improve my endurance.

I am working on the training program and on fitting the training into my working days at this time of the year. Running in the cold and dark after a long day’s work does not enhance my performance. One solution might be to have my running gear with me and run during lunch break at work, but this is not always an option. I so look forward to the spring and more hours of light!

I feel fortunate that by starting the Running Novice a new world has opened up to me. I am following several blogs that provide me with good tips and inspiration. I can read about others’ experiences and how long they have come with their running and this is truly motivating.

My goal was to regain some kind of training rythmn during the Christmas vacation, but I have acheived more than that! Besides getting started on this blog, I am defining which venues I will train for in 2014 and my training program is beginning to take shape. More to come on these two subjects on later posts!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

